Latest News

A Stellar Rosebowl Netball Campaign

April 13, 2018

View the Rosebowl Netball photo album here

The Drew’s Netball team had a superb campaign in 2018, reclaiming the trophy for the third year in a row. All four of the games started off tightly contested but the excellent depth of players within our team as well as our fitness and determination proved impossible to match and resulted in these fantastic scores:

Round 1: Drew’s vs Women’s (40 – 26)

Round 2: Drew’s vs Sancta (49 – 28)

Round 3: Drew’s vs John’s (42 – 18)

Round 4: Drew’s vs  Wesley 31 (41 – 31)

The final game against Wesley was an outstanding performance. Wesley had a very strong team this year and at the end of the first quarter, we found ourselves down 11 – 10. With a deafening crowd alongside us and huge concentration from the women on court, we managed to get into our own rhythm and end the second quarter on top with a score of 21 – 14. We then managed to extend our lead to 32 – 23 in the third quarter. After much anticipation, we held our cool in the last quarter and after the final whistle, were joined on court with a  record Drew’s crowd in celebration of our win.

Shooters Elle Carroll, Amy Preston, fresher Georgia Clark and fresher Harriet Naismith maintained excellent shooting percentages, which were a product of the excellent passing and speed of the midcourt players, Issie McCalman, fresher Jemima McCalman, fresher Rosa Comi, Neive Roebuck and fresher Zoe Burgess as well as the strong defensive pressure and incredible turnovers from the defensive unit which consisted of Maddie McCathie, Bec Findlay and fresher Lily Paterson.  All in all, a great team effort!

Special mention must go to Issie McCalman and Maddie McCathie for three years of excellence and commitment to the Rosebowl Netball team.

Congratulations to our women on the win! It is a result of all the hard work and dedication put in since the start of the semester. I’m very proud of you all!

  •  Amy Preston (fr 2017) Netball Sec and Captain 2018

Photos courtesy of Minami Takahashi

Rosebowl Netabll team

< Go back