Rhodes Scholars

The Rhodes Scholarship is an international postgraduate award for selected foreign students to study at the University of Oxford. It is widely considered the most prestigious postgraduate scholarship award and is awarded not only for academic excellence, but also for talent, moral fibre and leadership. The following 18 Andrew’s students were selected as Rhodes Scholars.


1904: Wilfrid A. Barton BA

1905: Percival Halse Rogers BA

1906: Mungo L. MacCallum MA

1908: Stanley Castlehow BA (for Queensland)

1910: John R. Hooton BA

1911: Harold K. Denham BA LLB MB ChM (for Queensland)

1921: Thomas Lawton (for Queensland)

1922: Arthur C. Wallace BA

1928: Richard Ashburner BA

1929: Ian M. Edwards BA

1930: Norman K. Lamport BSc

1934: Hugh C. Barry MB BS

1947: David R. Stewart BE BSc

1949: Robert Robertson-Cuninghame BSc Agr

1984: Ian M. Jackman BA

1991: Angus J. Taylor BEc

2003: Stephanie M. Topp BA

2003: Alexander W. J. Cameron BA