Scholarships and Prizes

Download the Scholarships and Bursaries brochure for 2018.

Information regarding financial assistance (a bursary), which requires a separate application, can be found here.


Several scholarship opportunities are available to new and returning students each year. Scholarships are awarded on merit and require students to submit an application.

Scholarships include:

  • St Andrew’s Scholars Program – up to five scholarships with full fee relief per year for the duration of the undergraduate degree whilst in College. Applications are now open for our 2019 intake.
  • Fee relief for all-round merit, including academic, leadership and extracurricular achievement
  • Creative arts – based on competitive audition and awarded in return for contributing to vocal or instrumental ensembles, drama, dance or public speaking. Click here for further information on the Creative Arts scholarships that we offer.
  • Named in honour of the College’s Rhodes Scholars, these entry prizes are based on Year 12 or University examination results
  • Sport – in conjunction with the SUSF and applied for through their Elite Athlete Program
  • Discretionary scholarships which reward merit across the academic and co-curricular domains in all-round capability
  • Alumni Society scholarships for contribution to the life of the College
  • Partnering with Country Education Foundation to assist students from rural and regional areas
  • In conjunction with the University of Sydney’s E12 Scheme for students from low socioeconomic backgrounds

Academic and all-round scholars application form

The Scholarship Committee meets early in the first semester of each academic year to award these to residents. Scholarships may vary each year but generally range from $2,000 to $10,000.

Indigenous Scholarships

Each year, St Andrew’s College offers up to five Indigenous Australian scholarships to support students who wish to reside at St Andrew’s College and who wish to study at the University of Sydney.

Indigenous Scholarship application form for 2019

GradReady GAMSAT Scholarship

GradReady will award one student residing at St Andrew’s College a GradReady GAMSAT Attendance (Comprehensive) Course each year. The scholarship is designed for prospective medical students and provides them with comprehensive preparation for the Graduate Medical Schools Admission Test (GAMSAT). Click here for more details on the course. GradReady is an education technology company, aimed at making learning more effective and engaging. To learn more about GradReady click here.

Visit their page for more information on how to apply.

Faculty/Degree-Based Scholarships

Note that the below scholarships are awarded to returning students only.

Stephen Salsbury Scholarship Four scholarships established in 1998 from the estate of an eminent Professor at the University of Sydney.   Awarded for academic merit in each of the following fields:

  • Traditional Economics
  • Agriculture
  • Veterinary Science
  • Law (if of sufficient merit)

Ralph Salsbury Scholarship Established in 1998 from the Estate of Professor Stephen Salsbury in memory of his father. Awarded to a student in the Faculty of Engineering.

A C Christensen Scholarship Established in 1976 from an estate, and awarded to a student on the basis of academic merit in any faculty.

Bill Caldwell Scholarship Established in 1998 in memory of an eminent Senior Student. Awarded to a meritorious student at the University of Sydney assessed on academic, extra-curricular (sports and/or cultural) and leadership merit.

Crane Stewart Bursary Established in 1998 by John Crane and David Stewart, distinguished Andrewsmen, and awarded to an Engineering students, or for general academic merit.

Robert Stein (Law)  Established in 1993 in memory of a former Vice-Principal of the College. Awarded to a Law student at the University of Sydney.

W R D Stevenson (Law) Established by Mrs R Stevenson in memory of her husband, Robert, who was able to reside in College because he had received a scholarship. Donated in 2000 to assist a Law student.

Hugh & Hilary Cairns (Women) Established in 2002 by former Principal Cairns and his wife, and awarded to the outstanding female student in the College.

Beesley (Rowing) Established in 2002 by Dr Monty Beesley, a Fellow of the College, and awarded to a student for service to College rowing.

Spann Scholarship Established in 1987 from the Estate of Professor R N Spann, Senior Fellow and former Vice-Principal of the College. Awarded to a student entering second or a later year, and based on previous academic performance and intellectual contribution to the quality of College life.

G P Dwyer Scholarship Established in 1971 from an estate. To assist “Presbyterian students” of merit who would not otherwise be able to reside in College during their University course.

Fullerton (Medicine) Established in 1983, and awarded to either a medical student or one studying with the intention of becoming a clergyman in the Presbyterian Church of New South Wales.

Horn (Law) Established in 1884 from the Estate of John Horn of Edinburgh, and awarded to an Australian born student of ‘logic, moral philosophy or divinity’.

Dr H L Stafford Scholarship Established in 1971 from an estate, and awarded to a student of the Faculty of Medicine, or any branch of Science or Engineering.

Struth (Arts/Medicine) Established in 1884 from a gift by John Struth, and awarded to a student in an Arts, Science, Medicine or Engineering course.

Page Memorial Prize (Leadership) The original gift was donated in 1884, and was to be used as an annual prize for “character, powers of leadership, mental powers and athletics”.

Wood (Fell Engineering Prize) A prize established in memory of John Walter Fell, co-founder of the North Shore Gas Co., and Helen Wilson Fell, a daughter of the College’s first Principal, Rev. Adam Thomson. Donated in 1964 by Professor John F D Wood for outstanding results in Engineering.

Post Graduate Research Residential Scholarships

St Andrew’s aims to encourage more research post-graduate to reside in College. Scholarships may be offered to students undertaking research masters and post doctoral studies. Academics may also apply. Current recipients of the St Andrew’s Post Graduate Research Scholarship must reapply for their scholarship annually. Applicants for continuation of a residential scholarship must complete the College re-admission form and write a short letter detailing their role in:

  • The St Andrew’s academic community
  • Collegiate social gatherings
  • Other aspects of College life

Applicants may also be asked to attend a short interview with the Principal. Regular tutoring and/or mentoring in scholars’ area of expertise is a condition of scholarship.

Post Graduate Research Residential Scholarship application form for 2019


Prizes are also awarded annually on merit and do not require students to submit an application. Prizes may be awarded in the following categories:

  • High academic performance across the full range of university faculties
  • Essay writing and creative writing
  • All-round merit prizes acknowledging leadership across
    the domains

Scholarship FAQs

Who is eligible?

Both new and returning students are eligible, depending on the category. The financial circumstances of applicants are not taken into account. Students must submit an application for each scholarship they wish to be considered for and may be required to participate in competitive auditions or similar.

When can I apply?

Scholarship application forms are available online in Semester 1 for the following year.

How do I apply?

Download an application form from this page and submit it.

When do applications close?

Closing dates vary for each scholarship. Please refer to the application form of the specific scholarship you’re applying for.

Contact the College if you have any questions.