Honours & Awards

The College would like to congratulate members of the St Andrew’s community who have received the below honours this year:


Reverend Dr John Alexander Pender (OAM) (Fr 1969)

For service to the Uniting Church in Australia, and to education.


Dr Lester William Burgess (AM) (Fr 1966)

For significant service to international agricultural research in the areas of plant pathology and biosecurity.

Dr Phillip Kelvin Brownlie (OAM) (Fr 1965)

For service to medicine as a general practitioner.

Dr Peter Ian Davidson (OAM) (Fr 1968)

For service to medicine as a general practitioner.

Emeritus Professor Trefor Owen Morgan (AO) (Fr 1953)

For distinguished service to medicine, and to medical research in the physiological sciences, particularly in relation to hypertension.

Dr Richard Murray Tooth (OAM) (Fr 1948)

For service to medicine as an orthopaedic specialist.


Dr William Leith Porges (OAM) – Principal of St Andrew’s College 1999 – 2008

For service to tertiary education, and to veterinary science.

Professor Rosalind Frances Croucher (AM) – Honorary Fellow of St Andrew’s College

For significant service to the law as an academic, to legal reform and education, to professional development, and to the arts.


Former Councillor/Hon. Fellow Dr Jennifer (Jill) Gordon AM

For significant service to psychological medicine, and to professional medical bodies. 

Emeritus Professor John William Longworth AM (Fr 1961)

For significant services to tertiary education, and to the agricultural sciences.


Dr Keith Douglas Sutor AM (Fr 1973)

For significant service to international relations, and to the Uniting Church in Australia

Keith is Foreign Affairs Editor for Channel 7’s Sunrise and The Morning Show and is regularly sought after for comment on business and global issues. At Wesley Mission, he’s been a lay preacher for over 40 years, Honorary Secretary in Sydney since 2012, Chair of Wesley Congregational Life Council and a Consultant on Social Policy for 17 years. Other roles include President of the Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies (1991-1998) at the University of Sydney, Chairperson of the International Commission of Jurists (NSW), and Managing Director of the Global Directions think tank.


Mr David Westbrook Anstice AO (Fr 1966)

For distinguished service to Australia-America business relations, particularly in the pharmaceutical field, through roles with multinational and educational organisations.

David is a Non-Executive Director of CSL Limited (a global specialty biotechnology company to treat and prevent serious human medical conditions) in Melbourne and Alkermes (a biopharmaceutical
company that focuses on central nervous system diseases) in Massachusetts. He is also the Deputy Chair of the US Studies Centre’s Board of Directors.

Mrs Anita Belgiorno-Nettis AM (Past Parent)

For significant service to the community through support and philanthropic contributions to social welfare and arts organisations.

Anita is a Board Member of the Sydney Theatre Company and film producer. She has produced titles such as The Last Race (2011) and The Black Balloon (2008).

Dr Kim Alexander Ostinga OAM (Fr 1954)

For service to medicine, particularly to orthopaedics.

Kim is an Orthopaedic Surgeon and Co Founder of The Hunter New England Bone Bank at John Hunter Hospital, a ‘Live Donor’ femoral head bank. He is also President of the Friends of Kind Edward Park in Newcastle.

We would like to congratulate the following alumni for their efforts in the community and for receiving these prestigious awards.


Dr Alexander Abrahams (Fr 1977) – University of Sydney Alumni Award

Dr Alexander Abrahams was awarded the University of Sydney Alumni Award for Innovation and Entrepreneurship in May. Dr Abrahams transformed dental practice in Australia by establishing the largest branded dental network, Pacific Smiles, which has over 95 dental centres across the country and employs more than 600 dentists. A philanthropist and investor in start-ups for the greater good, he has provided: seed funding for Group Homes Australia, an innovative dementia care model where residents live in suburban homes with 24-hour care; the blood testing group, Haemokinesis, which develops products for emergency and transfusion medicine; and established the Rosebrook Foundation to fund the arts and healthcare in Australia. Through the Rosebrook Foundation, Dr Abrahams donated $3.6 million to the University of Sydney’s Chair of Lifespan Oral Health. Together with his wife, Sue, he also funds an Indigenous scholarship at the University.

Will Edwards (Fr 2007) – Australia’s Best Whiskey

Will Edwards (Fr 2007) is the Founder of Archie Rose Distilling Co. and their whisky has been judged in 2020 as Australia’s Best Whisky at the World Whiskies Awards in the US.

Ashley Gray (Fr 1985) – Shortlisted for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year

Ashley Gray’s (Fr 1985) recently published book – The Unforgiven: Missionaries or Mercenaries? has been shortlisted for the prestigious William Hill Sports Book of the Year. The Award is the world’s longest established and most valuable literary sports-writing prize.

Jemima McCalman (Fr 2018) – Buildcorp Wallaroos Training Squad Selection

Jemima McCalman (Fr 2018) has been selected in the Buildcorp Wallaroos Training Squad that will meet at the AIS in Canberra in the first week of December. This will be the first national camp for the team in 2020 as they continue preparation for Rugby World Cup 2021 in New Zealand.

Cam Mostyn (Fr 2005) – Talisker Whisky Challenge

In January 2020, Cameron Mostyn and three of his friends completed the Talisker Whisky Challenge, rowing 3,000 miles across the Atlantic Ocean. They came second overall and produced the fastest time ever by an Australian Team. Their team, known as ROWED LESS TRAVELLED, raised over $280,000 for the Black Dog Institute while they were at it.

Jamie Ryan (Fr 2013) SUSF 2019 Sportswoman of the Year

Jaime Ryan was named Sydney Uni Sports & Fitness Sportswoman of the Year for 2019. Jaime achieved selection for the Tokyo Olympic Games in 2019 through impressive results on the world stage of sailing. In 2019, she placed 11th in the European championships and 35th in the world championships, competing in the 49erFX class in the Hempel World Cup series finishing the year ranked 7th in the world.

Clare Wheeler (Fr 2017) – Women’s Talent Identification Camp Selection

Clare Wheeler (Fr 2017) has been selected for the Women’s Talent Identification Camp with the Westfield Matildas,. The camp provides opportunity for some of Australia’s most promising female footballers to be evaluated by the Westfield Matildas’ coaching staff as the national team program recommences.


Genevieve Sergeant (Fr 2014)

The University of Sydney Visualise Your Thesis Competition

Yi Xuan (James) Zhang (Fr 2015)

The Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Prize for Best Design Report at the University of Sydney


Hannah Buckling (Fr 2010)

Nigel C Barker Medal at the University of Sydney’s 2015 Alumni Awards

We would be delighted to hear about other members of our community who have received honours. Please email alumni@standrewscollege.edu.au or call +61 2 9565 7302.